Day 150- So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright

Singing along to this song in the 80’s (yes, showing my age!), it never dawned on me that Frank Lloyd Wright was an actual person, and of any real significance.

As I have got older, I learnt he was an architect, and not just the theme of a song. In fact, in 1991, well after his death, Wright was recognized by th American Institute of Architects as “the greatest American architect of all time”.

According to Wikipedia, Frank Lloyd Wright was indeed an architect, interior designer, writer and educator.  He believed in building structures that were in harmony with humanity and its environment, something the architects behind tower blocks could have learnt from!

One of Wright’s most famous buildings is the Solomon R Guggenheim Museum in New York:

Image courtesy of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Guggenheim_museum_exterior.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed your brief history lesson this evening, Sussex University will be happy to know that my History degree has not gone to waste 😉

Lel xx