Day 290- Wake Up

 

Hey you, yes you. Not the next person to read this or the one after, but you. Do you know the difference between capturing an image and creating an image? A photographer does.

There is much debate amongst photographers and non-photographers about the price of photography. Some people would expect a photographer to work for very little, after all the only thing a photographer does is point, click and run an action on Photoshop right? Wrong. Very, very wrong. It really is time that photography is valued for the amount that is put into it.

The above image is straight out of camera, please be kind as I have no make up on and I am still a bit red in the face from a hot shower! Did you notice that it is a bit out of focus? This is because I have had to do my normal trick of focussing and then running int the frame on self timer. If I was taking this picture of you, it would be sharp.

Secondly, did you notice all the clutter around me and wonder why on earth I would have taken this picture? As a photographer, we see the final image as we are taking the shot, we see the composition, the angles, the light and how best to present the final image before we even touch a computer.

This image is what has been produced after just over an hour of work in both Lightroom and Photoshop. That is 1 hour for 1 image. Can you see the difference? The skin is softer and brighter, the orange light has been replaced by softer, muted colours. The eye bags are less prominent and the eyes now stand out. The clutter is gone and the crop of the image follows the rule of thirds with my right (as you look at the screen) eye cutting the third on both the horizontal and vertical. There is now a very obvious vignette around he edge to darken the edge and draw your attention to the eyes. The image is still soft but not as soft as it was and there is still a slight grain t the image so that it doesn’t look to digital.

Following this, I took the vignette back a touch and converted to black and white with an exposure adjustment and a brightness and contrast adjustment.

Did you follow all of that? 😉

Here is all 3 together so you can see the difference:

Photographers invest a lot of money on training in terms of shooting and editing. They also spend a lot of money on cameras and lenses to ensure they get the best image they can when you are spending your hard-earned money with them.

I had my own Wake Up moment today and I will be pushing my own photography business to the next level. As much as you need to value my work and that of other photographers, I need to value m work too. Watch this space in the New Year for some really exciting changes, I will be facing the fear!

Lel xxx

 

13 responses

    • Thanks for all your comments, I know I had a,little rant but it frustrated me that there seems to be an acceptance of photography being “easy”

  1. Well said indeed! If people truly knew how much I did before (and I am sure most half decent photographers do!) they would be astounded! The stray hair on the face, the little bit of dry skin, the dark circles, the less than flattering wrinkles that age cruelly bestows upon us, the slightly yellowing teeth, the odd lamps and heaters that appear in the background that we have to photoshop out to draw your eye away, the colour casts from stained glass windows, the drainpipes on churches….I could go on for hours! lol!

    Brilliant post Lel! xx

    • Thanks Tracey, in fact if anyone wants to see the result of an awesome photographer, they could just google Tracey Barrow Photography and get lost in your blog for a few hours xx

Leave a Reply

