Day 260- Canned Heat

It’s Sunday (well, it was Sunday if you want to be pedantic), it’s race day, eep!!!

Getting up at 6.30am on a Sunday is not my idea of fun however, I was up, and pulling on my running kit, before finally sending Little Miss to wake up Matt who hadn’t set his alarm!

Whilst Mr SF went to pick up Matt’s parents, we set about sorting out our electronic timing tags, race numbers and breakfast.

The weather was very kind, cloudy and a slight breeze, perfect for running.

When we got to Littlehampton, I knew it was going to be a tough run as my stomach was already bubbling and a quick trip to the bathroom was in order, sorry if this is way too much information for you.

Matt and I made our way o the race start, Matt joined the start at the 45-60 minute point, and I joined at the over 60 minute point, I had to be realistic and a t 12 years my junior, Matt was always going to finish well before I was.

I started the run too fast for the first 2km and then slowed down, however, the excruciating stomach pains hit at 3km and I then spent the next 5km both clenching my buttocks and praying for a toilet! The 8km marker at the lake was like seeing a vision from heaven as it was opposite the toilets 🙂

Finally having been able to unclench, I managed to get back into the run and get through the last 2km. I missed the 9km marker and was still looking for it when I realised I was near the finish. Little Miss ran over to me near the finish line and ran the last part with me which was lovely.

So, the all important times, because I know that’s what you want to know rather than my toilet dramas! Matt finished in 47 minutes, placed around 150th I think (out of over 1000 runners), and I finished in 1 hour 12 minutes, which would have been 1 hour 10 minutes or below had I not stopped.

You can still donate money for the rn to our Just Giving page, and after the hell I went through, I thin k its only fair. Alternatively, you can text LELH80 £5 to 70070 and it will do the same thing.

Lel xxx

Leave a Reply

