Day 241- Ruby Tuesday

I do love shiny, beautiful jewellery, and I do love love love a nice ruby, so this title was perfect today!

I don’t think I have ever thrown very much jewellery away (I sold my old wedding and engagement ring to pay for my camera but that’s a whole other story) and so I have a stash of rings, bracelets, necklaces that reflect my choice in shiny things and how this has changed over the years.

One thing remains a constant though, I do love squares and angles, and I do have a love for anything with a bit of a 1930’s feel.

These 2 rings are worth more to me in sentiment than they are probably actually worth. The one on the right and side I bought with money from both my Nan and my parents from The Laines in Brighton on my 18th birthday. I think it is still the most unusual piece of jewellery I own.

I ring on the left was bought for me by Mr SF a long, long time ago. I had been admiring it in a shop window for weeks, I used to walk past it every single day and wish for it to be mine. I remember mentioning it to Mr SF in passing the shop with him one day. A couple of weeks later the ring was gone and my heart sank.

That Christmas, Mr SF gave me a box, larger than a ring box which was rattling, so I knew it wasn’t the ring. When I opened the box it was jam-packed with Malteasers and other sweet treats. I remember I didn’t open the box properly just assuming it was all sweets and just put the lid back on and said thank you. Mr SF then told me to open the box properly. In the middle of the sweets was a ring box, and in the ring box was the ring that I had spent weeks admiring, how happy was I!! πŸ™‚

I have to admit, I am a sucker for a romantic gesture. I like to make out that I am a 21st Century woman who can fend for herself but a knight in shining armour will do for me πŸ™‚

Lel xxx

One response

Leave a Reply

