Day 202- Wannabe

What do you wannabe when you grow up? Jordan, the girl in the bottom left of the above image wants to be an Actress:

I on the otherhand just want to be able to call myself a Photographer, which is not what I set out to do at all. When I was 14 I wanted to be a Lawyer, and a Family Lawyer at that. I worked out what type of A Level subjects I needed and the University routes (should it be Law or another subject with Law as a conversion afterwards). When I was at college I was invited to extra Oxbridge sessions and went to an open day at Oxford. Unfortunately, this is where the law dreams ended for me as Oxford was quite in intimidating environment for a young girl from a council estate.

After that, I wanted to be a Teacher or maybe a Museum Curator so off I went to do my history degree. Again though, a reality check brought those dreams to an end as to get to those professions I would have needed at least another year at university that I just could not afford.

In a weird kind of way though, I did follow the education route and am now advising employers about work based learning.

I also wanted to do photography at school. Partly because of one of the boys that was doing it (hey, I was 15, don’t judge me!), and secondly because it fascinated me. However, I knew as a family we couldn’t afford the equipment so I never asked, and so I never did it.

It was only in 2004 a dear friend of mine set me on the photography path and now, 8 years later, I can confidently say “I am a Photographer”. It may only be part-time at the moment, but I know I can capture and edit images in a way that sets me apart from other people, I cherish this and I like to share it, and I love that I get to share it with you.

Lel xxx

One response

  1. I started off wanting to be an solicitor when I was little, found out how long I had to study for and changed my mind pronto! Then I wanted to be an Actress – tried that and was more wooden than Pinocchio’s nose. I then wanted to be an Air Stewardess – tried that too but didn’t like living in Bahrain…then I gave up trying to be anything for a while and just did all sorts!

    It’s only in the last 2 years that I’ve really wanted to be a photographer..one day I too hope to be able to call myself that with conviction – you can do it hun – follow your dream

    T xx

Leave a Reply

