Day 15- Candle In The Wind

Thank you for all of your votes this week. It ended up being a tie between Alanis Morisette and Elton John, I therefore had to employ an official adjudicator (thank you Mrs Stevens), who chose Elton, and I am so happy!

This particular album, Yellow Brick Road, is probably the first album I knew all the words to, although I am sure my Mum will correct me if I’m wrong. It also evokes strong memories of singing along in my Mum’s many varied cars as a child, and getting her in trouble with my Nan because of the lyrics, but that is a story for another day.

I thought I would get this one out-of-the-way early on in the week. It hurts to admit this as a huge Elton fan, but this is my least favourite track and I usually skip past this track now, but having read the details on the inlay card today, it appears that although the lyrics are “goodbye Norma Jean” it could have equally been James Dean or any other young talented person who died to early.

So here’s to you Marilyn, James, Elvis, Janis, Jim and more recently Amy, these candles are for you today, and these ones will ever burn bright.

Lel x

2 responses

Leave a Reply

